Mods -SSD -6gb Ram

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro 3,1. 2.4 GHz intel core 2 duo 6GB 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM Apex 120 GB SSD
Hey all I'm a video editor and generally work on a tower, but need the mobility of a laptop for an upcoming project. Anyone have any experience putting 6gb ram in there 3.1(non-unibody) macbook pro? or replacing the hard drive with a SSD? Also in the mean time I'm planning to wipe out my hard drive and repartition it, i need a bit of a walk thru to copy it to an external and boot from that.
Thanks,
J.B.

cwa107

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
14" MacBook Pro M1 Pro, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD
First generation MacBook Pros are limited to 2GB, later models 3GB, and the early 2008 models can go up to 4GB. You would need a Unibody machine for 6GB.

SSDs work just like a typical 2.5 SATA HDD (although there are some severe performance problems with the cheaper models). Long story made short, be sure to pick up a 2.5" SATA enclosure for the old drive so that you can connect both drives simultaneously to transfer your data from the old drive to the new drive.

In my opinion, the best thing to do is to remove the old hard drive and install it in an enclosure. Boot from the now external drive and use SuperDuper to clone the old drive to the new, making it bootable. That's all there is to it.

OP
J
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro 3,1. 2.4 GHz intel core 2 duo 6GB 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM Apex 120 GB SSD
Nice, thats a good idea to save that drive and have an extra external laying around. As for the 6gb ram, it is possible, I have seen a number of videos of the 3, 1 running it on leopard. Just wandering if anyone had first hand experience. check out RAMJET Inc. - Item Details.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
27" 2.93Ghz i7 iMac 16GB, 15" 2.66 Ghz i7 MBP 8GB, 2.13Ghz MBA 4GB, iPhone4 32GB, iPad3G 32GB
Starting Mid 2007 Macbook Pros were 4GB capable.