Will Time Machine Erase All Files On My Portable Hard Drive?

Reaction score
This is my first time using Time Machine. I purchased a 500 gb portable hard drive (Western Digital) which is mac compatible. When I got it, it I loaded all of my files from my pc onto the hard drive. I have transferred some of the files (mostly pictures and documents) to my MacBook hard drive. When I connected my portable hard drive and opened up Time Machine, I located the Western Digital drive fine but it said it needed to be reformatted and that it will erase all of the files on the hard drive. I think there are some files on it that are necessary to run the hard drive so I'm nervous about deleting them. Can I delete them and still have the hard drive run properly? Should I just transfer all of the remaining files to my laptop and then use the Time Machine program? I want to be able to periodically back up all of my files on the portable hard drive.

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
In order to use your external HDD with Time Machine it must be formatted to HFS+. That process will wipe the drive clean and destroy all the data that is currently on it. Before formatting, save everything you need from the drive to a safe place.

There are no files on the WD drive that are necessary for it to run properly. Formatting it for Time Machine will prepare the drive to be used by your Mac for backups or even for storage of your OS X data if you choose.

You can even partition the drive into two partitions; one for Time Machine, the other for storage. The second partition can be created as FAT-32 and used for OS X and Windows file storage. If you need more help on this, post back and someone will lend a hand.

Regards.

OP
M
Reaction score
Thanks