'Spaces' Trackpad Annoyance

Reaction score
OK, so I have had an issue recently that has annoyed the crap out of me and I hope someone here can help me out!

If I have four spaces setup with applications, say I'm in the bottom right space and have Firefox open. For example, I'm searching google and I want to bring my pointer to the search box in the top left of the window so I use my trackpad to bring the pointer there. Nearly everytime I do this, it will automatically switch to Space #1, or the top left space. This seems to happen with every space except that first one.

I look at the system preferences and I don't think I have an option that enables switching between spaces with the trackpad. I'm also a beginner with Mac, so I could be wrong!

Can someone please enlighten me and help me to get rid of this problem? Any input is much appreciated!!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2.5ghz Penryn MBP, 4 Gb Ram, 512mb 8600M GT, 250gb HDD & Black 30gb iPod, Black 16gb iPhone 3G
its not hot corners doing somethign you didnt know it was set to is it?

have you checked the settings under-
System Prefs-->Expose&Spaces-->Expose

OP
D
Reaction score
I do have hot corners enabled, but that isn't the problem because it would happen even when I was no where near a corner.

Here's the weird thing, it hasn't happened today yet, and I'm pretty sure I have yet to change any settings! Hopefully it won't continue.

OP
D
Reaction score
So it started up again - particularly when I started running a program remotely using X11 - does that make any sense at all??

It can be really sensitive, for instance when I first choose a space, a small trackpad gesture will switch to another space (which I don't want). It also switches occasionally if I draw a circle with the trackpad.