Ibook G4 Won't start after trying to replace Hard Drive

Reaction score
Ok, Here's the deal. I have an Ibook G4 14" 1.44 Ghz. I tried installing a new Hard Drive, but as I was taking it apart. The power Button outlet disconnected from the logic board. I carefully superglued it back on, making sure the two parallel parts connected, and put in the original hard drive. Everything Should be in working order, but it still will not turn back on! PS. If you think i should have soldered that one part, why is it that you cannot just super glue it? So please help! I am a freshman in college and im screwed without my comp!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac pro Quad Xeon; 15" Retina Macbook Pro; macbooks (family); Macbook pro 17"; intel & G4 iMacs.
Ok, Here's the deal. I have an Ibook G4 14" 1.44 Ghz. I tried installing a new Hard Drive, but as I was taking it apart. The power Button outlet disconnected from the logic board. I carefully superglued it back on, making sure the two parallel parts connected, and put in the original hard drive. Everything Should be in working order, but it still will not turn back on! PS. If you think i should have soldered that one part, why is it that you cannot just super glue it? So please help! I am a freshman in college and im screwed without my comp!

Yes this is a known issue with certain boards. Why do you think you can superglue an electrical connector onto a circuit board so that it works??

Basically you have to solder the connector back onto the motherboard!

If the superglue was conductive then you have just shorted the two pins out. If the superglue was not conductive then you have not made a connection so the button will not work !!

Now to fix the problem.....