Mac Home Office

Reaction score
This week I need to set up a home office consisting of 2 MacBooks, 1 HP Office Jet Pro L7780 multifunction printer, a PC, a Time Capsule, 3 USB drives, 4 iPods, 2 iPhones.

I have little to no experience with Mac except when I'm working on these devices. I pick a little more up each time. The person I'm helping knows this and asked me to do my best.

There are a couple of things I need to accomplish:

1. Move all pictures, videos, music to a central location
2. Set all notebooks, iPods, and iPhones up to share the music, videos, and music.
3. Backup all key data to a USB drive. This drive will be stored in a fireproof safe and taken out periodically to sink. When it is connected to the network it should automatically sync.
4. Share music within the confines of iTunes 5 device limitation. Is it possible to pay to have the device count increased?

Here's what these folks are hoping to do:

1. Kids download a song to iPod, when the iPod is connected to the network it automatically syncs with the "central location". Any one with any device can sync the song to their iTunes library. Can this be done? How?

2. Same as above but for pictures and movies too.

3. Parents want the option to view their entire photo library from any device when they are home. They also want to be able to take albums/pictures/books with them when they are out of town. Can this be done? How?

4. All syncing done automatically via bluetooth. The device enters the office and the syncing begins. Can this be done? How?

I imagine that the Time Capsule will function as the central location for all media and data files. Will the Time Capsule officially work as an iTunes server? An iPhoto server? An iMovie server?

Can the Time Capsule backup it's contents to an attached USB drive? Can it do it automatically when the drive is attached? How?