I want a Macbook Pro as fast as my G5

Reaction score
I'm going to be buying a MacBook Pro soon but I'm worried I will be disappointed with the speed of the laptop.

I have:

Processor: 4 x 2.5 GHz PowerPC G5

Memory: 1.5 GB DDR2 SDRAM

I'm a graphic designer and I use Photoshop everyday and my G5 has never disappointed me with excessively slow redraw on really large files. I don't really know enough about the technical stuff with regards to processor speed or bus speed or if the Macbook Pro laptops are just going to be slower than my tower.

What I would like advice on is which of the Pros is going to perform as fast as my G5 or would perform better?

I am looking to buy a refurbished one from Apple since I read somewhere on this forum that with the refurbished ones Apple has worked out the kinks and bugs in the system.

Thanks a bunch for any advice :)

Misty

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" Unibody MBP (2009), White MB (2009), iMac G4
I would almost 100% guarantee that the MacBook Pro will be faster. It is simply a much newer computer, uses an Intel processor, has a more up to date video card and ships with more RAM then you have in your desktop. Since photoshop relies heavily on processor speed, the speed bump from the Intel processor will be noticeable.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2,4Ghz 15" unibody
well he does have a quad processor though, but yeah, the intel is better and if you are using CS4 then you will also take advantage of the GPU (often underestimated by nongamers, the gigaflops are amazing) ... not to mention the MBP has 2gigs of DDR3 memory which is a whole 200Hz faster

you probably won't get any slower :)

just a quick comment, from my experience photoshop also relies on fast hard drives, it may sound silly, but have you seen the file sizes of those psds :D

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
nMP 6-core/32Gb/D700/512Gb: rMBP 15" 2.3GHz/16Gb/512Gb: iPhone 6 128Gb: iPad Air 2 128Gb: NEC PA322U