G5 quad - processor upgrade?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
PowerPC G5 (4x2.5GHz)
newbie, first post....:)
i've had my g5 quad for about 3 years from new, and its served me well (bought just before intel hit, grrrr..... bad timing on my part). i work it hard, im a photographer, so regularly sit and photoshop (cs2) 16gb of 40mb shots, the measley 2gb of ram is working its little socks off and running tiger still. i'll soon need to upgrade to adobe cs4 and leopard.
My dilemma is that, the G5 is a mega piece of kit, and it cost me a lot of cash, i bought it thinking i could keep it at least 5 years and keeping adding drives and ram - but I think I might need to upgrade to a mac pro with intel. softwares all built around the intels now, and i can't afford to be left behind :-(
That is unless the G5 processor can be upgraded...... looking on various forums I think its an unlikely option and might have to fork out again for a new machine - but i thought that if anyone can give me a definitive answer then its in here!
what if I just chockered up on ram, say whacking in another 4gb? clutching at straws..... all advice appreciated :D

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook Air 11" (2012), Macbook Pro 15" (Early 2008), Mac Mini i5 (2012)
The quad is still a beast of a machine, easily keeping up with the first gen mac pros. My advice:

1) Upgrade to leopard and buy as much ram as you can (its DDR2 anyways so its cheap)

or

2) You can easily get $1400-$1600 for this machine on ebay, you could sell and pony up another $1000 for a mac pro, but I don't see this as necessary for you.

OP
P
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
PowerPC G5 (4x2.5GHz)
wow - thats a seriously quick reply - cheers avenger2SER!
hmm, i see what you mean, the ram does look like a viable option for now. and as i thought, processor upgrade idea was pie in the sky :-(