Installing Ram

Reaction score
Hello, I am new to installing ram but I have seen it done many times. I just bought 4 gigs of ram to install into my mac pro. My mac pro came with 2 gigs of the apple ram. I was wondering if I have to take out the apple ram and replace it with the other brand or am I able to add onto it for a total of 6 gigs? thanks.

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
Hello, I am new to installing ram but I have seen it done many times. I just bought 4 gigs of ram to install into my mac pro. My mac pro came with 2 gigs of the apple ram. I was wondering if I have to take out the apple ram and replace it with the other brand or am I able to add onto it for a total of 6 gigs? thanks.

The Mac Pro has 8 memory slots. If you have 2 gigs of ram currently...the worse case scenario is 512mb x 4...so only 4 memory slots occupied, thus 4 slots still empty.

If you purchased 4 x 1 gig memory...no problem...you have 4 empty slots. If you bought 2 x 2 gig of memory...that would only be 6 memory slots filled (existing memory + new memory)...and thus two empty slots remaining.

Maybe I'm missing something (maybe you need to provide more detail)...but this seems like a "no-brainer" to me (no need to remove any memory)!

- Nick

OP
B
Reaction score
Sorry, I have 2 GB of apple ram (1GB is on riser A and the other 1GB is on riser B) I ordered 4GB which comes in 2x2. If I added everything I would only be using up 4 slots. I am fully aware of how much room I have but my main concern was am I able to mix different brands of ram? thanks.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini 14.3, 8.1 & 4.1, OS 13.5, 10.14, & 10.11 & 10.6; Macbook Pro 8.2, OS 10.12.
The brands or RAM don't matter (unless its Yinkletonk or some cheap weird type) as long as they're the right specs and matched pairs, which the Mac Pro requires.