Help With Purchasing a New iMac

Reaction score
My mother offered to buy me a new computer for christmas because my MacBook Pro was recently stolen.
She does not want to spend any more than $900.
I found a great deal on an aluminum 20" iMac for $870 on eBay (Buy It Now price), but she had trouble with PayPal and she refuses to use it. I've tried talking her into it, but she will not budge. And she needs to use her credit card so she can't simply transfer me the money to use it.
I found some deals at Apple Palace and as considering buying a Intel Core 2 Duo 20" iMac (not aluminum) for under $900, but I'm sort of bent on getting the newer aluminum model after seeing one for a good deal on eBay. Is it just as well that I suck it up and go for the white iMac?

I'm a Graphic Designer, and I want to be sure I have something perfect for me. My older MacBook Pro became too much of a hassle to work on. I'm looking for something more comfortable and faster, like an iMac.

Here's a link to the Apple Palace listing I was considering:
Home

Any help would be great. I'm excited about getting a new computer but I'm so stuck!

Thanks!

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
My mother offered to buy me a new computer for christmas because my MacBook Pro was recently stolen.
She does not want to spend any more than $900.
I found a great deal on an aluminum 20" iMac for $870 on eBay (Buy It Now price), but she had trouble with PayPal and she refuses to use it. I've tried talking her into it, but she will not budge. And she needs to use her credit card so she can't simply transfer me the money to use it.

Sounds like your main problem is with your mom!!!

Get the money from your mom, open a Paypal account, and then buy from e-Bay yourself.

Another option is watch your local Craig's List. iMac's appear every now & then. Get the Aluminum iMac...NOT the previous "white plastic" iMac.