Dual Powermac G5 2.0Ghz Problem

Reaction score
Hi all, Im writing this through my laptop as my G5 went BANG/POP this morning.
I'm not new to apple macs but I am new to owning the G5 and have little experience with the insides, I've only ever used the G5 at college and Uni. I managed to get my hands on this G5 Dual 2.0Ghz from a friend who has upgraded to a Mac pro and I havent used it as yet because of this:

I had only got a vga monitor so sent off for an adapter from DVI to VGA, the adapter came this morning and so in excitement of owning my G5 I carefully fixed the adapter to the mac and then to the monitor. Powered up the monitor and as always it was perfect and awaiting signal.

After pressing the power on my G5 I heard the glourious hum we all love, I was so pleased about having it and was eagerly awaiting it to start to have a play. Just as the apple logo came onto my screen as it was booting up I heard a MASSIVE BANG/POP and the monitor went blank. I quickly turned off the switches and pulled the plugs out for both mac and monitor and also the power lead of the mac.

After gathering my self together (the bang took me by suprise and scared the **** out of me for a few moments) I switched back on the monitor and as always it was in perfect working condition. The mac however, when I plugged it back in for just a second to see if it was ok, it wouldn't power up and there were no signs of life whatsoever.