Xbox 360 Working with iMac Wireless

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook Pro 2015 15", Powerbook G4 17" 2004
Ok, i'm going to try and explain this is in as little words as i can :)

I live in university halls, that uses ethernet that i use with my iMac flawlessly and it never disconnects, but when i plug it into my xbox it disconnects from xbox live every 5 minutes, so it makes online gaming virtually impossible :(

I had the idea of sharing my wired connection wireless and my xbox 360 adapter picking it up, but it doesn't work and ive read around that its because i'm using a mac.

Anyone know how to get around this, I've tried some guides but with no success, i have no router, my broadband comes from the wall btw.

Thanks if anyone can help!

dtx

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Aluminum MB, 2.0, 2gb ram, 320gb hdd
simplest answer.. get a router.

i do it with my Windows box, but I'm fairly new to Mac. It's called "bridge" your internet connection. I'm sure it's possible. Google :)

cwa107

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
14" MacBook Pro M1 Pro, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD
simplest answer.. get a router.

i do it with my Windows box, but I'm fairly new to Mac. It's called "bridge" your internet connection. I'm sure it's possible. Google :)

Agreed, entirely. You can use your Mac as a wireless access point, but considering how picky the 360 is about wireless connections, I think you'll find it's more hassle than it's worth (and the same would apply to a Windows machine).

You can pick up a decent wireless router for less than $75 and it will save you quite a bit of hassle and offer a better degree of flexibility.

dtx

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Aluminum MB, 2.0, 2gb ram, 320gb hdd
$75?! try $35! haha!
Since the xbox only supports Wireless G anyway, just get a basic wireless G box. The Linksys WRT54G is a great machine and sells for about $45 (Canadian).