This Is Insane lol

Reaction score
Right So I'm 18, Really Into My Digital Arts, Graphics, Photography and everything and i just bought a new macbook....

So basically, i've been a windows User Since I Can Remember And Well i'm completely new to this system, i can get around and everything but well i need some tips, like what file extensions can i use or not use etc. just general basics.

thanks in advance.

bobtomay

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP '06 2.33 C2D 4GB 10.7; 13" MBA '14 1.8 i7 8GB 10.11; 21" iMac '13 2.9 i5 8GB 10.11; 6S
It's pretty easy to get started on a Mac. But there are also a lot of things that will be either new or different.

First recommendation is a read thru Eric's switcher's faq for general basics. A whole boat load of good stuff there.

If you're looking for a great book, Leopard: The Missing Manual is the ticket.

It would be a lot easier to say what you would like to do, and then allow the members to point you in the direction(s) for getting it done.

About the only thing you can't do is run Windows programs without installing Windows on your Mac. So, nothing that has a .exe will run. Most file types that require a specific program in order to open them on your Windows machine will still require a specific program to open on your Mac.

The first 4 items to install are:
Flip4Mac for playing windows media files you'll run into on the net
Perian for just about every other media file type except for:
Flash Player
Stuffit expander - you'll eventually run into some file you've downloaded that you'll need this for

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15.4" MacBook Pro 4GB 500GB 2.4Ghz

CrimsonRequiem

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 2.3 Ghz 4GB RAM 860 GB SSD, iMac 3.4 GHz Intel Core i7 32GB RAM, Fusion Drive 1TB
...like what file extensions can i use or not use etc. just general basics.

thanks in advance.

File extensions are the same for the most part. I wouldn't worry too much about that stuff.

OP