Moving Home Folder

Reaction score
Has anyone moved the location of the home folder to an external drive? Its really not clear if it can be done without any issues. In windows you could just move your My Documents folder without any issues. I am new to the Mac platform but I love what I have been able to do thus far.

Can someone who has had great success at doing this advise me? Can it be done and if so what's the easiest way to do it, or is it not recommended? I have read some people who have done this and have had many issues.

iMac Intel Core 2 Duo 3.06 GHz Memory: 4 GB, Mac OS X 10.5.6

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini Core i7 2012 | White 2009 MacBook 2 Ghz | 733 Mhz G4 Quicksilver
Not that I know of

Why are you trying to move the home folder, is it a space issue? There are other ways of freeing up space on your start-up drive

bobtomay

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP '06 2.33 C2D 4GB 10.7; 13" MBA '14 1.8 i7 8GB 10.11; 21" iMac '13 2.9 i5 8GB 10.11; 6S
Have never done it, but would advise against moving your home folder. You'll have most of the same issues as renaming it cause. Anything that uses user specific preferences vs system wide preferences will no longer find them in their proper location, keychain info will be missing, etc.

You should be able to move your Documents folder without much issue depending on what apps you're using, the same as in Windows. Any apps that use that location as their auto save and restore location however, would no longer know where they are. Not sure if there are any like this or not. I use Aperture, and it saves everything currently in the Pictures folder. Know if I move that folder, Aperture wouldn't be able to find all my current pictures.

OP
A
Reaction score
Not that I know of

Why are you trying to move the home folder, is it a space issue? There are other ways of freeing up space on your start-up drive