usb upgrade

Reaction score
hi i really wanna upgrade my ports to usb2, ive been trying to google how to do this and im guessing i need a pci usb card, but they look hard to install on my emac, is there any external one you can buy, or any software that will upgrade the port, sorry im new to all this.thanks

Reaction score
White MacBook iMac G3 Dell inspiron laptop Dell inspiron
Hi again!
What you Might want is a USB hub.
If you click on the link below it will show you one!

USB 2.0 Aluminum 4 Port Cylinder Mini Hub UK Seller on eBay, also USB 2.0 Hubs, USB Hubs, Cables Connectors, Computing (end time 24-Jan-09 13:10:52 GMT)

But it would be best if you installed USB 2 into you computer.
If you get someone to do it for you (e.g computer shop) it would be best.
If you don't build it into your computer you might still get some problems.
pci usb card would stop all problems as a Hub won't.

Hope This Helps!
John.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini Core i7 2012 | White 2009 MacBook 2 Ghz | 733 Mhz G4 Quicksilver
You may be out of luck

That hub is usb 2 but youe emacs connection is still usb 1, so you wont get any speed increase.

Even a USB / Firewire hub will not work since they are separate buses, you will see any firewire devices connected but only see other usb devives attached to the hub via the emacs usb 1 ports, again restricting the whole usb bus down to usb 1 speeds

You cannot install a PCI card in to an emac either.

The only way to connect USB 2 devices to the eMac is via some sort of networked hard drive, connecting to the eMac via fast ethernet

Reaction score
White MacBook iMac G3 Dell inspiron laptop Dell inspiron
Yes I agree, I never thought about that!
I think the computer isn't very good as a main computer.
It is going to be really hard to get USB 2
If "I" was you I would get a new Mac.
The computer was made a long long time ago and wasn't designed for the stuff out now,