Possible convert to Mac from PC.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
None yet
Hello to all,

I am new to the formum so I say Hello. I also have a question or two. I currently have an old AMD 1800 PC that is still running, just is out of date and I am trying to decide which new system I want to build or buy. I hadn't thought of getting a Mac until reading about how the Mac was a little better than a windows based system at playing digital music. So here I am asking all of you your thoughts on switching over to a Mac.

My wife does not want to. She stated that she doesn't know how a Mac operates and so she doesn't think she would like it. I am more open minded about it and would like to hear from those that did switch from Windows to Mac.

What do I like to do with a computer. Probably the same as the majority of PC users. Nothing special. I do want to get more into using quality components to make my digital music listening more enjoyable than the current system I have now (old creative blaster sound card and speakers). The rest of our PC use is left to browsing, photo editing and making music cds. As for games, I like FPSs and some of those cheap egames you get for $10 at WMart.

Anyway, I was hoping for some insight as to your thoughts on making the switch. Is Mac really worth the extra $1K??? That seems to be my only issue with switching is trying to justify the price vs the price of a windows PC which would cost me around $1600 to build but the Mac Pro is going for $2400-$2700. Thanks for reading.

Reaction score
You can build a mac for under 800 with good specs. You can also run windows on a mac so your wife wouldn't have to switch if she didn't want to. They even say Vista runs better on a mac.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini Core i7 2012 | White 2009 MacBook 2 Ghz | 733 Mhz G4 Quicksilver