Need help with simple photo software

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook
Greetings. I am new to the forum, and am VERY glad I found it! I have recently come back to Mac after about a 10 year hiatus. It's nice to be back, operating smoothly without crashing... ;)

I am an avid photographer, taking large batch photos of 100-200 shots at a time (shooting my kids at the park, etc...)

When I get home, I used to just plug in my camera to my desktop PC, it would acknowledge the camera and ask if I wanted to download the images. I'd say yes, and tell it to "move" the images to a certain folder (Downloads, etc...) The PC would clean off the card as it moved the images. Then I would rename the images with the date they were taken. I would use the scroll over EXIF data viewer to see what the date was (in case I had some older photos on the card I hadn't yet captured, and had forgotten when I took them.)

After that, I would select the first image, and use Microsoft Office Picture Manager, and view the photos. I would be comparing 10-15 (or more) photos that are nearly identical, except for the faintest difference in expression on my child's face. I needed the full-screen (or very close to it) view of the picture to see the details I needed to make my decisions. I could quickly delete the inferior photos, then crop the good ones. I could immediately "save as" the cropped/edited photo to my "to print" file for later processing.

Now that I'm on a Mac, I feel out of place.

For starters, there is no "move" function in Finder, so that leaves 200+ images on my memory card that I have to manually select/delete/confirm on my camera!? If I "move to trash" the files, they card gets FUBARed and I have to format it. (I did that ONCE.)