Mac Mini Questions....

F

Flamingyak

I was wondering if some of you guys could give me your recommendation on the Mac Mini. I currently have a Dell Inspiron 5100 2.66 Ghz w/ 512 MB of RAM and a 32MB Radeon 7500. I already own a 17 inch LCD display, keyboard, mouse, external HD, etc... I'm a student in College and would use this computer mostly for Media, work, and occasional games. How powerful would this computer be for games? What would be some of the most advanced games it could successfully play? I have never owned a Mac before but think this may be my entrance into this other dimension.

So do you think it would be worth it to have a second computer? And would this blow my 2.66 Ghz out of the water? I'm just tired of my computer freezing and my having to reboot. I've already reformatted my comp. twice.

Thanks!
Steven.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
20" iMac C2D 2.16ghz, 13" MacBook 2.0ghz, 60gb iPod vid, 1gb nano
We do not allow the freemac/freeipod links on the board.

Mac's are not very good for games but for everything else they are great.

OP
F

Flamingyak

trpnmonkey41 said:
Mac's are not very good for games but for everything else they are great.

OK. So MACs are great. But specifically, How is the Mac Mini? I have heard people talking about "hiccuping" in the performance, even with 512 Mb of ram.

-Confused-

Yak out.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook 1.83Ghz Core Duo, 120Gb HD, 2Gb Ram, OS 10.4.11/PowerMac G5 Dual 1.8Ghz, 1.5Gb RAM, 500Gb HD
Flamingyak said:
I was wondering if some of you guys could give me your recommendation on the Mac Mini. I currently have a Dell Inspiron 5100 2.66 Ghz w/ 512 MB of RAM and a 32MB Radeon 7500. I already own a 17 inch LCD display, keyboard, mouse, external HD, etc... I'm a student in College and would use this computer mostly for Media, work, and occasional games.