newbie: stuck on desktop screen after booting

Reaction score
Dear all,

after booting, my Powerbook is stuck on the desktop screen.

I am new to Macs; bought a PB G4 with preinstalled Tiger a month ago. Yesterday I noticed that Camino was hanging so I pressed the ON button forcing the machine to shut down.

Here's where the problem starts. As I tried to turn it on, the machine got stuck on desktop screen.

I've already gone through the sticky post with "instant fixes" to no avail. I booted in single-user mode and attempted to use fsck -y to which I got a "Volume is journaled. No checking performed". I tried then a forced fsck and this is exactly what I got back:

** /dev/rdisk0s3
** Root file system
** Checking HFS Plus volume.
** Checking Extents Overflow file.
** Checking Catalog file.
disk0s3: I/O error.
Invalid sibling link
(4, 16973)
** Volume check failed.

Please help! To make matters worse I bought this from a guy that misplaced the original OS disk. Thinking I would never need it I agreed. Oh, and by the way, I am currently posted in India, so no Mac support readily available (me thinks).

Thanks for your help.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
933 Mhz Powermac Quicksilver,1.5GB RAM, OSX 10.5, Tangerine 300MHz Clamshell, OS 9.2
Your hard drive directory is damaged beyond Disk Utility's limited repair capabilities (which are, as far as I know, the same as those of fsck). You can either reformat the drive and reinstall everything, which sounds like a non-option for you right now, or buy DiskWarrior and rebuild the drive's directory with it, or buy a new hard drive and set the old one aside to be repaired later. But if you'd also have to buy an OS to install on a new drive, DiskWarrior would be less expensive than a drive plus an OS.