How to choose?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro Unibody
It is sooo personal. Really it is what ever works for you best. I started with Deadrat (erm... RedHat), moved to Debian, then to Slackware, then to Linux from Scratch (LFS) and finally to Gentoo (in mid 2002). Personally, I like Gentoo the best, but that is because I have been using it since 2002 and know it inside and out, even helped to maintain some of the packages for awhile. I would suggest doing some reading on some of the bigger names and see what strikes you. You can always change.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
11" MacBook Air / Unibody MacBook / iMac i3 21.5" / iPhone SE
Hi, if you have the data allowance, I would go to somewhere like The LiveCD List and download a few distros to try out.
As they're mostly LiveCDs they boot into a live system which is totally usable but won't alter your Mac until you choose to actually install.

PCLinuxOS, Mint, Suse - all quite simple to use and configure.
I hear also the new version of DreamLinux is pretty good, and looks quite like OS X.

Hope this helps

Cheers :)

Hugh

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBookAir5,2:10.13.6-iMac18,3:10.13.6-iPhone9,3:11.4.1
I've been through Debian and SUSE 11 in the past 2 weeks and haven't fallen in love with either. I'm thinking of FreeBSD next. Nothing really seems to be doing it for me. Point being... the nice thing about Linux is that you can try different flavors until you find one you like.

Reaction score
I would suggest you choose based upon what you want to put into it. At the "hard" end of the scale you have Gentoo. Difficult in that you have to compile it completely but when you finish you have a system you have designed for your needs. At the other end of the scale is Linspire - 10 minutes flat for install (or less) and you have a complete OS that you have nothing else to do.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro Unibody