Mac newbie needing ANY and ALL help!

Reaction score
I recently bought a MacBook off of a friend, who received it from a school scholarship, but didn't care to own a computer. It did not come with any user manual, warrenty, ect. and I am new to the Mac World! I don't really know anything about what I am doing...trying to learn as I go, but also worried about screwing up my computer. I was hoping that someone here might be able to point me in the right direction for an online user manual, or confirm/deny if I am a Tiger so that I can search for information from there.

"About This Mac" reads MAC OS X version 10.4.11...this means I am a Tiger, right? Should I be updating by now?

"Software Update", will give me an error message saying I am not connected to the Internet, but I am! My Safari browser doesn't work anymore, it did initially, but I now use Firefox only.

I don't even know how to resize my photos with iphoto...sigh.

Thanks in advance!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro Unibody
You only have to update from Tiger if you want to. There are plenty of people on the forums who still run Tiger.

Are you connecting wirelessly or with an ethernet cable?

Reaction score
Well,