Speed of my USB?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac 2.4 ghz Intel core 2 duo, 2gb ram, 2.4ghz
I have a 2.4 ghz intel core 2 duo imac and want to buy a portable hard drive for backups. I have been looking at a Western Digital 160GB, but note that some reviewers have commented that it struggles on computers with only 400 whatsits on USB ports. I've been trying to find out how many whatsits the USBs on my computer have, but can't. Anyone help? Incidentally, I'm a novice, so no flaming pls. Also, price most definitely comes into my equations. I know it is better to buy best, but if you truly can't afford it, then........I desperately need to backup my comp.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2xiMac24 w Parallels 6 (1x White, 1x Aluminum), iPhone 3GS with iOS5
Welcome to the forum and we won't flame you if you provide us with enough information to help you, and you have.

Your iMac specs are here Apple - iMac - Tech Specs

It shows two USB ports and each one is a different speed with 800 being faster (it is in megabits per second I believe). I am not sure but I would bet in the owners manual it would tell you which port is the fastest. Some external USB devices are 400 (older) and the newer are rated at 800. If it is not too late please think about an option with Firewire which is the ideal situation for a backup drive. A little bit of money will make you do lots of backups because it is fast and the drive is usable saying only that transferring to and from a USB device can be slow.

I love Western Digital and use only their drives myself. The enclosure is where the speed hits the ground. Make sure yours has a fan if possible and firewire for speed. A cheap backup device may not be there when you need it because of overheating and/or other issues. Buy quality if at all possible.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini 14.3, 8.1 & 4.1, OS 13.5, 10.14, & 10.11 & 10.6; Macbook Pro 8.2, OS 10.12.