Swap a PowerMac for an iMac?

S

Smileyguy

Hello everyone,

I’m a freelance journalist who is starting to get into amateur photojournalism and landscape photography. I’m hoping to possibly make photography a second source of income in the next few years. I also use my computer for storing my music collection, for doing a little layout work in Quark, and for surfing the net, doing the accounts and using iLife extensively.

I’ve currently got a 1.8 GhZ single processor PowerMac G5, from the first line-up of G5’s released in 2003. I originally forked out money I didn’t really have for the machine because I wanted longevity. As a consequence of the expenditure, I couldn’t afford a great monitor. I bought a 15’ LCD, and now I’ve got the money for a new monitor I want to upgrade to 19’ or 20’.

So I started shooping online for displays, but then I got a great offer from my local apple centre. They said If I traded in my G5, they’d give me a brand new 20’ iMac G5 for €550. I don’t particularly want or need a new computer, but look what I’m getting for this deal…

- A brand new 20’ display.
- A brand new computer
- Both of these under warrantee
- A chance to get AppleCare, Apple’s Bluetooth module…
- A gorgeous all-in-one machine which will save space and has the potential to be wall mounted (the aesthetics are REALLY temping me…)

All of this for €550.

Or, I can keep my Powermac and buy a secondhand 20’ Apple Cinema display (one of the last generation) for at least €620, but probably more. Of course I could buy a third party monitor (The Formac Platinum 1900 could be picked up for about €550). Like I said, I’m moving into a new home soon so aesthetics are important, and the Apple Cinema display and Formac are the only monitors that really appeal to me.

So would a move to the iMac G5 be a ‘downgrade’?