Mac Mini for light video editing and DVD creation

J

jfenton

This may have been covered before, but I am new to Macs and know very little about there capabilities in terms of speed. I am looking to purchase my first Mac to replace a Pentium 450MHz PC and to complement my Pentium III 1GHz laptop. I upgrade very little and feel that the capabilities of the Mac Mini and its price point is a viable option to a new PC, but I have a few questions.

I would like to use a Mac Mini (upgraded to 512MB) for light video editing. I will be using video from my Canon DV Camera (has firewire). Is iDVD good for this compared to Pinnacle Studio version 9 and is the speed of the Mac Mini good for this? Pinnacle Studio came with my DV camera and I use it on a 1GHz PC Laptop (it runs okay, can be a little slow rendering transitions, just for a speed comparison).

In addition I'm not sold on the Super Drive yet. My question regarding the super drive is this: Is the super drive in the Mac Mini a DVD+-R (ie. it does both DVD+R and DVD-R)? I ask because my DVD player, XBOX, and laptop read DVD-R best (I am getting varied reports online). Also I already have a TDK external DVD burner (firewire or USB connections), can I use it with iDVD? According to the TDK website it will work with Mac OS X, but I remember hearing reports that other DVD burners do not work with iDVD. If this is true what software do you recommend to video editing and burning?

Thanks for the help.

rman

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
14in MacBook Pro M1 Max 32GB 2TB
You should be able to edit video on that system. I found a hack that enabled me to burn DVDs with iDVD and an external DVD buner. The is another way to get the burner to work with other applications. Macman will most likely stop by and give you the information on that.