2.4ghz Macbook OR 2.4ghz MB Pro

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP - Core i7 @ 2.66ghz
Hey guys, i'm looking at getting a new laptop and not sure which one i should go with:

1) Macbook w/ 2.4ghz (9400m gfx) - This is the one that im really leaning too. I like the smaller 13.3" screen, and just the overall smaller form factor. I dont need firewire, so that doesn't really bother me.

2) Macbook Pro w/ 2.4ghz (9400m + 256 9600m gfx) - This is the one that I would like to have. I dont mind that its alil bigger than the Macbook, mainly cause there isn't that much difference in the weight; i think like a pound or so.
My main reason for even considering the macbook pro is because of the dedicated graphics card for more performance, if needed. Now, while i am just a student at the moment, i do like to do webdesign, and photography.

So, i guess my question is, do you guys think that the 2.4ghz Macbook will shell out all the performance that i will need in order to run programs like: Dreamweaver, Fireworks, Flash Pro., Contribute, AND Photoshop??? Or am i gonna need to cough up $400 more, and go w/ the MB Pro???

Keep in mind, i wont be doing heavy webdesign, just alil here and there. I have a pretty powerful desktop, but dont include that in your decision.

CrimsonRequiem

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 2.3 Ghz 4GB RAM 860 GB SSD, iMac 3.4 GHz Intel Core i7 32GB RAM, Fusion Drive 1TB
Hey guys, i'm looking at getting a new laptop and not sure which one i should go with:

1) Macbook w/ 2.4ghz (9400m gfx) - This is the one that im really leaning too. I like the smaller 13.3" screen, and just the overall smaller form factor. I dont need firewire, so that doesn't really bother me.

2) Macbook Pro w/ 2.4ghz (9400m + 256 9600m gfx) - This is the one that I would like to have. I dont mind that its alil bigger than the Macbook, mainly cause there isn't that much difference in the weight; i think like a pound or so.