Creating Shared Device Alias

Reaction score
Hi Everybody,
I'm new to Mac OS X and got a little problem creating shared device alias.
I found very useful site that helped me alot Mac Advisor - Shared Device Alias BUT ... my problem is that I dont get the "Shared Device" icon on my desktop therefore I cant make an alias. I only get te folder opened and I can add it to sidebar, nothing more. Cant drag from there nor create alias.
Where I went wrong?

Reaction score
... my problem is that I dont get the "Shared Device" icon on my desktop therefore I cant make an alias. I only get te folder opened and I can add it to sidebar, nothing more. Cant drag from there nor create alias.
Where I went wrong?

Andre,

You did nothing wrong, I forgot to make sure that users checked the Finder’s Preference Settings to make sure that the Show Connected servers on the Desktop option was selected. I have updated the page on my site. Sorry for any inconvenience you may have encountered.

-Klaus

OP
Z
Reaction score
Andre,

You did nothing wrong, I forgot to make sure that users checked the Finder’s Preference Settings to make sure that the Show Connected servers on the Desktop option was selected. I have updated the page on my site. Sorry for any inconvenience you may have encountered.

-Klaus

Now it might sound funny but I'm really new to the whole Mac OS X system and I cant find where to check "Show connected servers on desktop" :(

Reaction score

Now it might sound funny but I'm really new to the whole Mac OS X system and I cant find where to check "Show connected servers on desktop" :(