Mac laptop versus PC laptop

Reaction score
Now before we go nuts (being a Mac forum an all) let me explain. I'm a Mac user, and the occasional PC user. I'm a designer and I use my powerbook for pretty much everything, even gaming.

With the new MacBook Pro's out, I'm seriously considering upgrading. My PowerBook has been good to me but I would to run the newer graphic programs.

Now my partner is a PC freak, being a typical IT professional (I hate Windows but I won't use anything else...go figure) is chunking a tanty (I'm Aussie so basically means chucking a tantrum) about me paying over that much money for a Mac when I can purchase a PC (Alienware or something or rather) with the same specs for the same amount install OS X and it be cheaper.

Personally, I hate Winblows. I've had my PowerBook for the last four going on five years and have had to rebuild once because my hard drive failed. I've had very little issues and I love how I don't have to worry about my Mac. So I will be getting my Mac.

More to the point, anyone here have any thing that I can trump his stupid PC arguement. I'm not well versed on hardware specs and all I know is it works, doesn't break and it easy to use. So I would like to throw some arguement back at him.

I hope this made sense.

Thanks guys! :Angry-Tongue:

dtravis7

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
If you like OSX, stick with a Mac. There is no legal way to install OSX on a PC, Alienware, Dell or anything not made by Apple. Even if you wanted to break the law, OSX only works on a very narrow range of hardware, so you would be taking a chance of some things not even working.

We do not allow any talk here at Mac Forums of installing OSX on Non Apple Hardware just for a heads up. To me what makes a Mac great is the OS, OSX. I love OSX so I use Macs.