MacBook/MacBook Pro questions

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
aluminum MacBook: 2.4GHZ Core 2 Duo, 3GB DDR3 RAM, NVIDEA GeForce 9400M, 250 GB HDD (32GB for Vista)
I'm currently looking for a new notebook. I've had many notebooks around the household before but only 1 in my possetion a few years ago. I've only had a Mac once and it was a year ago, a refurbished iMac G3 with Tiger, Office 2004, and iLife '05 on it. I'm currently using a Dell desktop, but having a notebook would be the best decision right now because I just entered high school, I spend most of my life on the computer, and I'm a very active blues musician. With that in mind, an Apple notebook is obviously where I want to go. The Apple student discount is 5%. I currently have $800 of saved gigging money that I want to spend. I'm close to the new white MacBook, but for what I do, that won't suit my needs and for how much I use it and what I do on it, it won't last long. I've found that the new $2k MacBook Pro would be the best fit for me, but it's much too expensive and the student discount only brings it to $1900. I need something ASAP, but I don't know where to go. I've had too many problems with used computers (especially my old iMac I bought used and I've heard of other used Mac problems from friends), so I definetly want to get it new. Does anybody have any ideas of what I could do? Thanks!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15.4" Macbook Pro, 2.8GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 4GB DDR3, 128GB SSD Drive, NVIDIA GeForce 9400M+9600M GT
I know you have your heart set on a brand new macbook pro but it might be a good idea to look in the refurbished section? Apple test all the refurbs and include a one year warranty.

Heres the link for the Refurbished section: The Apple Store (U.S.)

Also check out the Clearance: The Apple Store (U.S.)

B&O

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP i7, Mac Mini & iPhone 3G.