Boot Camp and Win XP

Reaction score
Hi everyone.
I was just about to run bootcamp and install Windows XP on my new Macbook when I thought I'd better read the instructions first. (Seems like a good idea sometimes:[ ) Thats when I read this :
"You must use a single full-install Windows installation disc (Service Pack 2 is
required for Windows XP installations). Do not use an upgrade version of Windows and
do not install an earlier version of Windows XP and attempt to update it later to SP2 or
later."
Now. My XP disk has sp1 included and I have sp2 & 3 on separate cd's. Can someone advise me on what I should do? I recall once, years ago, I had to "stream" my xp and sp2 disks for some installation but cant really remember the details.
Thanks
Tommy

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2 GB 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM MacBook, 2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
Ooh, I'm not an expert at this so this is not my field however, there is one thing I recommend, you could call, and excuse my language tech support, or refund your discs if possible and purchase one SP2 disc.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
'11 Macbook Pro i5 2.3 GHZ, 4GB, 10.10.4
You can always slipstream your own disk if you have to; theres tutorials online about how to make your own XP SP2 disk from your XP SP1 disk. It can be a pain, I tried it but I accidently used one of my old messed up XP CD's and it got stuck loading the installer. I just decided to use my Vista Ultimate disk since I took apart my "Vista testing PC" lol.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
You can always slipstream your own disk if you have to; theres tutorials online about how to make your own XP SP2 disk from your XP SP1 disk. It can be a pain, I tried it but I accidently used one of my old messed up XP CD's and it got stuck loading the installer. I just decided to use my Vista Ultimate disk since I took apart my "Vista testing PC" lol.

That sounds like the most complicated thing mankind has ever done . . .

OP
T
Reaction score

Thanks.