Use on lap?

Reaction score
So I'm very very new to using a laptop, and admittedly from the name I would assume that it is safe to use on your lap even if it gets jostled a bit. But I've still been wondering is it safe to use a macbook on your lap (assuming it will get jostled a bit) with a spinning hard drive? It seems like doing this might damage the hard drive...
Thanks!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac, iPad, MacBook Pro.
I always use mine on my lap, and all is fine, does get quite warm but no prob it seems

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro 2.6 GHz Core 2 Duo 4GB RAM OS 10.5.2
It's fine, I do it all the time. And also something to think about is that they don't really call them laptops anymore.. this is mostly due to the heating issue that most all portable computers have.. so most companies are calling them notebooks now. Kind of a legal thing since people are getting upset when they get so hot on their laps :)

But yeah I have a little lap desk that I use with mine, and the hard drive has protection against jostling etc.. so you're quite safe. Even if you drop the thing, it has protection against that also.

http://support.apple.com/kb/HT2530

eric

Retired Staff
Reaction score
most companies are shying away from the term "laptop", typically opting for "notebook". i don't think apple actually calls the macbook a laptop at all.

this has less to do with jostling as it does with overheating the notebook and the potential overheating of your flesh, as there have been lawsuits initiated by people who say they have actually been burned by some models.

that said, i have very occasionally used my macbook on my lap (but far prefer a good lapdesk). one thing to keep in mind is to not restrict the rear vent at all. you may also look at running a temperature monitor app to keep an eye on the internal heat of your machine.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
I don't know
I've never used mine anywhere BUT my lap.

CrimsonRequiem

Retired Staff
Reaction score