Dell 8400 versus 20” iMac G5, any suggestions?

Reaction score
Hi,

I’m new to this forum, and I know this question may cause a few long sighs (the endless debate between PC and Apple). :spook:

I’ve been shopping for a home computer for about 2 months now. I’ve narrowed it down to the Dell 8400, and the Apple iMac G5. Right now Dell has a great deal on their systems, but something is drawing me to the Apple.

I primarily use the PC for web browsing, very heavy/advanced Excel/Access use (mostly work related), Photo editing, music, and very limited gaming.

For fiancé is a senior computer programmer and utilizes a host of advanced programs, including Access, SQL, and other programming stuff (She’s leaning more towards the Dell). Many of her cohorts have told me/her that the Apple is only 1.8 gigs, whereas the Dell is 3.4 gigs, “Duh, go with the Dell.”

I’m sure some of you have been in a similar situation. What caused you to pick the Apple over a Dell (or other PC)?

For those of you who’ve owned iMac G5’s for a few month’s now, how do you like it? If you previously owned a PC, how does it compare to the PC?

Your input would be greatly appreciated! :cool:

Thanks,

Vake J.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
PowerMac G4 Cube 450mhz 832mb
the imac g5 and that dell 8400 with those processor specs and equal ram amounts will
be very different. the imac g5 will outperform that dell at most if not all tasks. the mac is way faster off the bat cause the OS runs so much smoother and doesnt get fragmented and OS X handles all your stuff for you. add more ram to the imac g5 and leave that dell in the dust. as far as deciding, it all comes down to other specs, like hd size, monitor size, optical drive and extras and ultimately, the price.

D

Danster