Macs running slow! What's the deal?

Reaction score
Hi, I have two macs:
Desktop: imac G5 running on mac OSX (bought in late '04)
Laptop: 12" powerbook G4 running on mac OSX (bought sometime in '05)

They are both running extremely slow and I don't know why. I don't have an enormous amount of files on the computers, just some pictures from over the years that I know I should probably burn to cds.

My microsoft office apps aren't opening and photoshop, illustrator and indesign run VERY slow. It takes forever just to get the programs to do what I want. I'm a graphic designer so I have tons of fonts on them as well. I heard somewhere that TrueType fonts slow down mac computers, is this true?

Any other suggestions on how to speed up my computers?

Thanks so much!!!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" 2014 MacBook Pro, i7 2.5Ghz, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD; iPad 3, iPhone 6
Can you post the full specs of the machine, HDD space, RAM available and the versions of Office as well as the OS X version (full version, e.g. 10.4.9)

You can and should try this script in the terminal

sudo periodic daily monthly weekly

You'll be prompted with your password. This can help if your machine is never given the chance to complete housekeeping during the day.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini Core i7 2012 | White 2009 MacBook 2 Ghz | 733 Mhz G4 Quicksilver
True type fonts do not slow down your system

Having loads of fonts open all the time does

I use Linotype Font EXplorer to manage my fonts and regularly close down all the fonts apart from the system ones, knowing that CS3 plug-ins will auto load them when needed

Having hundreds of fonts open will slow down Adobe programs, and MS Office is especially sensetive to "corrupt" fonts and will take ages or just fial to load

Here's a link to a guide to managing fonts in OS X

f you are going to start loading quite a few fonts, font book is not the best app, the free font explorer is much much better