Automounting Network Shares on Login

Reaction score
I am having an issue that I have been unable to resolve. I am fairly new to Macs so my knowledge with them is limited. I am a computer technician at a school corporation that recently purchased three iMac's with OS X 10.5.2 to be used as a video editing lab. We are primarily a Windows facility using Active Directory. Each student has their own network share used to store files, and the share is mapped by a batch file that is executed when they log in. The location of the folders are //servername/folder/studentname.

This brings me to the issue that I am having. I cannot get the iMac's to mount the network share when a student logs in. I have tried creating a startup script that I found through google that does mount volume "smb://servername/folder/$1" but this will allow the student to view the entire server instead of only their personal folder. I have tried creating a login hook by executing in a terminal sudo defaults write com.apple.loginwindow LoginHook /path/to/script but I'm not exactly sure if this is working properly. I have read that it is possible to accomplish what I am trying to do, but everywhere I look seems to have a different answer that works with older versions of OS X but does not work when I try it.

I also have a question regarding the dock. Is it possible to modify the dock for all users? I would like to add an icon to the dock and have it be the default for all users, but I have no idea how or if this can be done. If it's not possible, could I have a folder open on Login that would contain the icons I want all users to see?

Any help with these issues would be greatly appreciated. I hope it is clear what I am trying to accomplish.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Way... way too many specs to list.