iMac 20" display - Do problems still persist?

Reaction score
been a lifelong PC user and am finally getting around to make the switch.. had my eyes firmly on the 20" iMac, 2.66 Ghz, 2 GB RAM and 320 GB hard disk. Wife loved the size (she thought the 24" is too big) and we were all set to pick it up..

spent some time doing research and came across this great forum.. read about problems - colour gradations; contrast shifts; faded colours on the 20" iMac displays.. However, these seemed to be particularly bad last year..

Has Apple gotten around to fixing this or are the current batch of 20" iMacs still affected?

I don't really want to spring for the 24" unless I have to..

switching to Mac mainly for image editing work.. I'm no professional and its just a hobby for me.. shoot in RAW and process with Photoshop, Capture NX...

Will the 20" work for me or do I really need to sping the extra US$ 300 for the 24"?

any feedback will be hugely appreciated!!!

p.s. I have 2 days to decide as the store is running a promo where I can pick up a Mac with 0% interest for 12 months...

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac Pro 2017 3GHz 10-core 128GB RAM MacBook Pro 13-inch 2.3GHz i5 16GB RAM
Get the biggest screen you can afford or you will just regret it later.

OP
S
Reaction score
Thanks Roger.. While helpful, that suggestion is still enigmatic..

why would I regret it later? I do not plan to spend hours before the screen on a daily basis... i would like a system that supports my hobby over the next couple of years and lets me process my photographs quickly and efficiently... something to relieve the stress from my day job.. which involves sitting at a desk and staring at a monitor :(

cheers!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook 1.83 2gb RAM 60g HD