reinstalling osx / archive & install

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15"MacBook Pro 2.7 GHz i7 (2013) | 15"MacBook Pro 2.6GHz (2018) both OS 10.14.1 | iPhone 6 OS 12.1
ok...i plan on reinstalling my os...& i need some help...i have never tried reinstalling the os before or archive & install...

i need to know...if i dont chose to archive & install...what data & settings will be lost & what will stay

incase i do lose data in the regular reinstall will doing an archive install preserve data in my downloads & documents folders?

also...what about os upgrades & other upgrades i had done over time...will i need to reinstall/download them all?

hope to get some help soon...i want tot do this as soon as i can....thanks

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Way... way too many specs to list.
if you don't chose archive and install it will all be lost. Archive and install, in my experience, restores pretty much everything in your users directory.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2015 Retina 4K iMac. Monterey. 8GB RAM. Crucial 500GB external SSD
http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=301239

talks about tiger, but you get the idea... things to backup first....

backup your stickies file... unless you have no data in stickies, then dont worry about it.

why are you reinstalling? having problems?

try archive and install first.... that may fix any problems.... you would need to run software update again...

backup any music or apps you bought/paid for on the web.... itunes purchases.... there is an option in the itunes menus to backup I believe.

archive and install moves all your data in your home folder to another folder saving the data... but I would backup first anyway just to be safe.

OP
rohan
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15"MacBook Pro 2.7 GHz i7 (2013) | 15"MacBook Pro 2.6GHz (2018) both OS 10.14.1 | iPhone 6 OS 12.1
stickies is not an issue...nor are the itunes files...im worried about things like my AU plugins for logic & stuff like that...