Unusual MacBook Hard disk upgrade.

Reaction score
The Intro:

Hello to everyone at MacForums! I've been using these very useful forums for the last two years ever since I made the switch.

After a rather unsuccessful scouring of the net I couldn't find out if upgrading a MacBook's hard drive using SuperDuper installed on a different MacBook is possible.

The Situation:

I'm a student and for my year out on placement I've decided to start up my own computer repair business being "the mac guy" and my business partner being "the PC guy".

Today we received our first call about MacBook hard drive upgrade.
Now if the customer was using Leopard it would be a piece of cake because I would sell the customer an external hard drive and use Time Machine to do the rest.
Being in the market I can predict this sort of situation where MacBook owners with Tiger want to upgrade from their 60GB drives is going occur more frequently as my business's turnover increases.
Many of the articles about upgrading a MacBook hdd recommend SuperDuper and it looks like a cracking piece of kit! However I don't want to have to make my customers buy SuperDuper every time. I want to buy it and use it to make the deal more attractive to customers because I don't have to charge them $30 odd per purchase.

The Setup:

I own a MacBook of my own. I would like to remove the original 60GB hdd from the customers Mac and replace it with a 160GB (best price point in the UK at the moment). I would like to put SuperDuper on my MacBook and then set up two cadddies (I have too many of these :p) plugged into my two USB ports, with both the new 160GB and older 60GB drives in each caddy respectively. (sorry about the grammar)