• Welcome to the Off-Topic/Schweb's Lounge

In addition to the Mac-Forums Community Guidelines, there are a few things you should pay attention to while in The Lounge.

Lounge Rules
    • If your post belongs in a different forum, please post it there.
    • While this area is for off-topic conversations, that doesn't mean that every conversation will be permitted. The moderators will, at their sole discretion, close or delete any threads which do not serve a beneficial purpose to the community.

Understand that while The Lounge is here as a place to relax and discuss random topics, that doesn't mean we will allow any topic. Topics which are inflammatory, hurtful, or otherwise clash with our Mac-Forums Community Guidelines will be removed.

AOL in 1990 or so...

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2015 Retina 4K iMac. Monterey. 8GB RAM. Crucial 500GB external SSD
first time I got on the web as a newbie, I went with AOL...

if you recall, they charged by the HOUR back then.... $2.95 an hour or something like that?

My first months bill was: $120!!! :eek: :Shouting:

needless to say I called and cancelled when I got that bill. lol

just thought I'd share this, sort of funny now that I look back on it.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
3.4 Ghz i7 MacBook Pro (2015), iPad Pro (2014), iPhone Xs Max. Apple TV 4K
That's about what my cable bill is for Cable and unlimited HS Internet monthly.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Way... way too many specs to list.
Thank you for your support ;)

Ya know, I should have stayed.. my options would have set me up nicely :D

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini Core i7 2012 | White 2009 MacBook 2 Ghz | 733 Mhz G4 Quicksilver
ah, the days of 14.4

ohh, the days of 28 kbts

wowww, the heady days of 56K

Remember when downloading a 10 meg file was a major undertaking

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro M1 Pro - 16 GB RAM - 512 GB SSD - macOS Monterey
ah, the days of 14.4

ohh, the days of 28 kbts