Tidying up a bit

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
3.06GHz .. 2Gb RAM .. 500Gb HDD .. 512Mb 8800GS .. iMac
Tidying up a bit + iTunes issue

First of all I'd like to say hi and that I'm new to OS X. I've had the computer since last Monday and I love it.

One thing that's troubling me is tidying up the Documents folder. I've transfered from a Windows computer and with that came my music, a whole 25Gb worth. Basically after taking it off my iPod using Senuti it all went into the Documents folder, each individual track. What I'd like to do is put it all into the actual iTunes folder or make my own My Music folder - or do something else if I haven't noticed something.

I know it's strange but I really like to keep things organized, it helps me find things and just makes the whole system look a lot neater.

Any help?

Thanks! :D

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
17 inch 2 GHz C2D imac (5,1) with 3GB DDR2 RAM, X1600 (128MB memory) GPU - OSX 10.6.3
Just set up itunes to "keep itunes music folder organised". And "copy files to itunes music folder when copying to library".

This will copy all of the files into the itunes music folder. But you can select any folder you want to be this folder. And it'll be organised by artist in there. Well whatever artist each track says in the itunes app that is. Then you can keep your original files stored safe somewhere, like on a portable HD for backup purposes.

OP
B
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Thanks for your help :)

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini Core i7 2012 | White 2009 MacBook 2 Ghz | 733 Mhz G4 Quicksilver
Go with the8thark's advice.

If you have nothing in iTunes at the mo, drag all the files in to iTunes - after you have made sure it is set up to organise your library (that is the default anyway)

This will copy all your music in to the Music folder and organise your tracks based on the tags