Do I want the AppleCare Protection Plan?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
27" iMac 3.06GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 4GB RAM, 1 TB HD, ATI Radeon HD 4670 256 MB, Bootcamp 3.0
I'm planning on getting a the 24-inch, 3.06GHz iMac (which is about $2000) and I'm wondering if the protection plan is a worthy investment. I wouldn't even consider it if I was paying around $1200 or less, but I'm not sure I want to risk it with $2000. If something does go wrong with my iMac in year 2 or 3, can I just have it serviced for a fee? Is it likely that something will go wrong with a mac in that time? If it were a PC I know I'd need the warranty, but I'm new to macs and I haven't heard of people having many real problems with them.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
13.3" MBP: 2.26 C2D, 4GB, 160GB
For the $2000 investment, its probably worth it to get the plan. Apple repair costs are pretty high. Not to mention the iMac is tightly built, so it probably has a better chance at heat damage...

Reaction score
personally i beleive its a good idea to get protection plans on all of apple things.. because.. they tend to break down and when it does.. its best to have that extra warranty under your belt

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook, iPod Classic, 8GB 3G iPhone, Time Capsule
I wish I'd have gotten it on my MacBook, if that helps you.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
3.4 Ghz i7 MacBook Pro (2015), iPad Pro (2014), iPhone Xs Max. Apple TV 4K
I have purchased 9 Macs in my life. None of them had ApplCare. 2 of them required repairs to the screen (iBooks) within the first 30 days of purchase. AppleCare would have played no part in their repairs. 1 of them (Intel C2 iMac) required a motherboard change after 14 months and cost me $950 out of pocket. I suspect my Quad G5 will require repair within the next 6 to 8 months and will likely cost me $500 to $800.

My next Mac purchase will include AppleCare.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
13" Macbook Pro 2.26Ghz Unibody 4G RAM 160G HDD Superdrive