Camera For Beginners?

JRV

Reaction score
Can any photography gurus tell me what might be a good camera for a beginner photographer? My girlfriend wants to play around with modeling for some pictures and all I have is a Sony Cyber-Shot. I've tried taking pictures with it but they don't turn out as nice as some of the stuff I see online. I can get the lighting the way we like it but my camera isn't cutting it. The slightest movement on my part causes the picture to blur. Any ideas for a good camera?

J_K

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook 1.83Mhz, added superdrive and 320gb HD
I've just got a Nikon D40 and as a total noob to photography, I've been told it's a good first step.

The pics it takes are ceraintly a step on from my previous fuji S5600.

Have you tried a tripod??

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2.16Ghz Intel Core Duo processor / 15" / 120Gb HD / SuperDrive / Express / Firewire / Tiger OS X
The Olympus E-420 is supposed to be good for beginners. Good price too.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 15 inch 1.83. iBook G4.
I have just bought the sony a200 dslr and I have found it very simple to use and reasonably priced too.

The key things that I learnt when looking at the buying an SLR are the following:

1- An expensive camera body will not take great photos if you have a cheap/poor lens attached to it. It makes more sense to have a cheaper body and more expensive lens.

2 - If you intend to get into the whole DSLR thing, you are buying into a brand for a long time as canon lenses only fit canon bodies etc. If you end up buying a load of canon lenses then decide you want to move to nikon then it can be an expensive swap. With the sony, you get a lot of minolta lenses and I have found that for my use, their range will do me fine.