Mac Pro Help

Reaction score
Hello,

My name is Drew, and I am in the market to upgrade my Mac Pro, as well as purchase a laptop. This is essentially a repost of a topic on a different forum, but I want to try and get as many different opinions as possible before I make a desicion. If I am breaking any major rules, feel free to scream at me. ;D

Last summer, I purchased a Mac Pro. Here are some of the adjustments that I made:

+4GB RAM
+400GB 7200 RPM WD Hard Drive

Thus far, I have loved every minute of it. However, this summer, I have some extra cash, and I am thinking of upgrading some more portions of it. Before I ask about specific components, I will give a little bit of background on what I do.

I am primarily a CG Artist. I work mainly with 3D Modeling and Animation (which I will get to later), while also working with 2D Animation, large-format print editing, vector illustration, and video editing.

I have rarely encountered problems with my computer "hanging," but there have been instances, and I would like to know if there is anything that I could do to speed my machine up. Here are things that I am looking into purchasing:

-Faster Hard Drive (10000 RPM+?)

-Another Graphics Card

-4GB More RAM

I know I need specific parts, but is there anyone here who can point me in the right direction as to speeding up things? As I said, I work mainly with 3D Modeling and Animation, so render times are a big deal for me.

I have also been thinking on getting a second monitor...is there anyone here who can attest to how good/bad of an idea that is?