Complete Newbie who needs some advice

Reaction score
Hi All.

I have only stumbled across this place about 20 minutes ago, so please bare with me I am reading through things so that I can get a better understanding of what I want and how to get it.

I have pretty much fallen in love and want to get one of the new Imacs and benefit from the current price reductions here in London.

I need some advice as I’m not to sure what I want.

For your information this is the ideal situation I want to have.

42” plasma linked up to my imac so that I can watch movies on the IMac and also use it as a really nice media suite.

I also want to be able to play all the latest games on the mac and learn to use its features for creating music and design and what now.

So therefore am I able to buy an Imac and hook it up to a plasma / LCD screen and use this as a second screen

For example will I be able to watch a movie on the big screen TV and also play a game or do some work on the Imac at the same time? Or will I just be able to watch everything through my screen.

Which therefore leads me to the debate, should I just go for the 20” imac and put the extra money towards a TV or do I just go all out on the 24” Imac which is all singing all dancing.

Any advice would be appreciated.

OP
S
Reaction score
I think I have found one answer to my problem.

AppleTV.

I pressume that I can hook up Apple TV to my IMac and to my Plasma or LCD and then watch movies from my Imac on my TV!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" 2014 MacBook Pro, i7 2.5Ghz, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD; iPad 3, iPhone 6
Apple TV will sync up to iTunes on your iMac so you can watch video if it's in the appropriate iTunes format. You can also view YouTube on Apple TV.

Alternatively, you could link up you iMac directly to your TV, via the Mini-DVI port and use make the TV a '2nd screen'.