General Mac Questions

Reaction score
First of all, this forum is great, been looking around and found quite a bit of useful information. My story; I have been a Windows user for... too long. I have been looking at Macs for quite some time now but have not taken the dive to getting one.

So, some questions:
1) My knowledge (not very much) is that now you can purchase the OS X and install it on any computer, is this correct? I know this might sound like a dumb question but I am trying to make 100% sure I know what I am doing, I live in a crappy little town and so have to travel 6 hours to the nearest Apple store (which has only just opened) and don't wish to get there and not get what I want.

2) I have been studying website design for about the last 2 years and have started to work part time as a kind of apprentice. I have purchased Photoshop, Dreamweaver, Flash and Fireworks CS3 and would like to know if these can be installed on Mac. Obviously I know you can use these programs on a Mac, but will I need to get specific Mac compatible versions? Once again I know very little about the operation of a Mac apart from what I have read, so I'm not too sure on the installation process. I have some experience with Linux (Ubuntu) and wasn't too impressed with how long it took and hard it was just to get a simple graphics driver.

3) I do enjoy online gaming and would like to know, from people who have experience playing on both Mac and Windows, of difference in performance (FPS, driver issues etc). I currently have a slightly older PC with a 512mb Graphics Card and 3.4GHz processor, I am planning an upgrade to a much cleaner, faster machine and so won't have any trouble actually playing the games on my machine.