Sorry! Total newb question: internet connect reminder

Reaction score
Sorry, all. I'm a recent arrival from XP land. When I'm on line I get the "internet connect" reminder about every 10 minutes, even when I'm in the middle of, say, composing an email (ironically, it just happened again as I was typing this post).

Is there a way to control the frequency of this alert?

Thanks in advance.

:D

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Sounds like you might have your email program set to check mail every 10 minutes. What email program are you using? If it's Mac Mail (the default) go to preferences, general, and make sure you set it to check mail manually.

If that's not it, you may some other program trying to get on the internet every 10 minutes.

Regards.

OP
S
Reaction score
Thanks for the suggestions, chscag.

I should perhaps clarify, though. This happens when I'm already connected to the internet, even actively browsing.

The alert is called "internet connect". It reminds me that I am connected and it asks whether I wish to stay connected or to disconnect.

It's a useful alert. I'm just not sure how to enable/disable/adjust the feature.

:\

dtravis7

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
Ok how are you connected to the Internet? DSL? Cable? What modem? Router. Answer this and I am sure I can help you.

OP
S
Reaction score
Ok how are you connected to the Internet? DSL? Cable? What modem? Router. Answer this and I am sure I can help you.

Sorry for the delay in responding. Away.

My connection is via DSL. Using a Speedstream modem that is a few years old. No router.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

dtravis7

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE