File Transfer (Please Help)

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Late 2009 MacBook laptop (all-white edition) 2.26 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo w/ 4Gb of RAM and a 500 GB HD
I have 2 Apple G-4 computers. One is 8 years old, running OS9 and the other one is about 4 years old, running OSX-Tiger. Both computers have USB 2.0, FireWire and Ethernet ports on them. The OS9 Mac has no CD burner, but the OSX-Tiger Mac does have one. I want to transfer all of my files from the old Mac without the burner, to the newer Mac. Without buying an external hard drive, would I be able to hook up the 2 computers to each other by USB, FireWire, or Ethernet cables ? I could turn on "File Sharing" if I go the ethernet cable route. Would file sharing work for what I need to do? I've never used file sharing before and don't know anything about it. My only concern is that someone told me that I might run into a problem because one computer has OSX and the other one has OS9. He told me that I would probably not be able to transfer my files using 1 of the above 3 connection methods that I mentioned. He said the 2 different operating systems would conflict with one another and file transfer would not be possible. Is this true ? He also told me that certain external hard drives might be compatiable with one of the OS's, but not both and that this to, might cause me some problems in my file transfering. I will listen to any and all advice on this subject. Please help. I have thousands of files to transfer to the newer computer. Thank you.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacPro, MBP C2D, iMac G4
Well, you can still run os9 in tiger, so maybe you could try transfering files that way. I know you can transfer files via firewire. Why don't you want to get an external hard drive? I think that would be your best bet, and you could find one that will work with both os9 and tiger. Its a good thing to have to store data on...

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs