New B&W questions

K

kingcrowing2

Hey, i'm new to Mac, but i've used them before and i love um, so i just bought one, its an old 300 MHz Rev. 1 Blue and White G3 Powermac with OS X. it has 128MB of RAM, and a 6 GB HD, and a CD-ROM (yeah, no burner or DVD... yuck) so i plan on making some upgrades... i was looking into it and it uses IDE HDDs and optical drives, and PC100 Memory. It just so happens that i've got an old gateway system that has a 10 GB IDE HDD and an IDE CD-RW, i also have 256MB of PC100 RAM (2x128) and i was wondering if any of those would work in the apple, or if they arn't compatiable?
I was also thinking about getting a Sonnet CPU upgrade, i was thinking either the 800MHz or 1.0GHz upgrades, anyone had any expiriences with them and know if its worth the price for the performance upgrade.
Thanks a lot for any help, its much appreciated!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
PowerMac G4 Cube 450mhz 832mb
sorry Im late, he said hed call me, but I got no calls or emails, so Im here. depending on the brand of the ram, it should work, as far as the 10 GB IDE HDD and the IDE CD-RW, it also depends on the brand a little, for the cdrw, you may have to download drivers from the manufacturers website, Id check there first, if the drivers are available, itll work, if not, you can try and hope the drive will run natively in os x, on the hard drive, will it fit internally, or will you get a case for it to be external? what brand is the hd? even if its not a brand that is known to support mac, it may work, but itd have to run externally or not as the main hd at first so you could format it if necessary, or use it as a second hd, which may be better if since its bigger, you can work off of it or use it as a scratch disk, and have only apps and the os on the internal 6 gb.get back to us with info on the brands and what not.

OP
K

kingcrowing2