External Mic in GB

Reaction score
Hi. GarageBand/Mac newbie here. I've got a new Macbook and a Personus FP10. I can play a software instrument track using my MIDI keyboard via the FP10 audio interface. Good stuff. But when I create a real instrument track to record from a microphone plugged into the audio interface, the Track Info pane only shows the built-in mic. It doesn't pick up anything from the FP10 in a real instrument track.

In MIDI Audio Settings, the Personus FP10 is there, though the volume control and checkboxes for channel 1 (where the mic is) are disabled.

Any ideas on how I can get a microphone - and other real instruments - recognized in GB would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks in advance,
Michael

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2.53 Intel Core Duo Mac Mini; 4g RAM; 350g HD, OS 10.6.3
only thing i can think of is to make sure your "monitor is ON". (see attachment) the default when making a new real instrument track is for the monitor to be off. i guess this presents you from blowing your monitors with feedback by accident. i still catch myself forgetting to make sure this is on. hope this helps.

Picture-2.gif

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook 2.1GHz Core 2 Duo | 1GB RAM | OS X 10.6.3 | 250GB External HD | 8GB iPod Touch 1st Gen 3.1.3
You know, I was with my friend, trying to get his bass to be picked up through GB like a MIDI controller would, and we had a hard time figuring it out. We finally got it, but now I don't remember how we did it. :(

OP
U
Reaction score
Finally got it working. (Was out of town for a couple days.) Woohoo! Here's a list of things you might want to check if you're having problems with analog input into GarageBand.

HTH,
Michael

-----

Go to System Preferences > Sound
Click on Input, then select your input source and turn the input level all the way up.

Go to Audi MIDI Setup