"No bootable device -- insert boot disk and press any key"

Reaction score
I'm very new to using the Mac operating systems, I've had my new Macbook for about a week now. I was using Bootcamp to try installing a Windows operating system to run on parellels, and now I've found myself in some trouble. I found an unlabled disc I thought might be my copy of XP but wasn't sure so I put it in my drive to try installing it on Bootcamp. My computer restarted and brought me to a black screen that says across the type: "No bootable device -- insert boot disk and press any key"
And I'm completely stuck on this screen. I've tried pressing a bunch of keys, nothing happens. I've tried using the eject key, nothing happens. It just won't let me do anything but stare at that screen. Like I've stated, I'm very new to Mac so it may be something very easy to get past, but any help would be greatly appriciated, thank you in advance to anyone who can help.

OP
T
Reaction score
I'm very new to using the Mac operating systems, I've had my new Macbook for about a week now. I was using Bootcamp to try installing a Windows operating system to run on parellels, and now I've found myself in some trouble. I found an unlabled disc I thought might be my copy of XP but wasn't sure so I put it in my drive to try installing it on Bootcamp. My computer restarted and brought me to a black screen that says across the type: "No bootable device -- insert boot disk and press any key"
And I'm completely stuck on this screen. I've tried pressing a bunch of keys, nothing happens. I've tried using the eject key, nothing happens. It just won't let me do anything but stare at that screen. Like I've stated, I'm very new to Mac so it may be something very easy to get past, but any help would be greatly appriciated, thank you in advance to anyone who can help.

cwa107

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
14" MacBook Pro M1 Pro, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD
NOTE: Merged cross-posted threads.

Reaction score