Conversion for wav files?

Reaction score
i'm relatively new to this and i need some advice. i recently got a new mac and have been downloading some dave matthews shows onto my computer. i use azureus to do this. these are in flac format when i download. i then convert them to wav files. they sound great but take up a ton of space on my computer and also on my ipod (i have a 30 gig). i'm quickly taking up all that space. i need to know how to convert further down so i'm not taking up as much space. i was thinking that i would burn the wav files onto cd-r's and then convert and then delete the wav files from my mac. i do not want to convert to mp3 because i've read that you lose sound quality. also, these shows that i have are seamless and i know if i convert to mp3 there will be gaps between songs. can i convert wav to aac or something else that is comparable? please help

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini 14.3, 8.1 & 4.1, OS 13.5, 10.14, & 10.11 & 10.6; Macbook Pro 8.2, OS 10.12.
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Black Macbook C2D, 2Ghz, 2 GB RAM, 120 GB HD, ipod nano 8GB, 500GB MyBook
Anytime you compress a file, regardless of format, be it mp3 or aac or anything else, you lose sound quality. It’s a trade off: how much quality do you want to retain versus how small do you want the file to be. Converting it to 320 kbps mp3 with a good encoder is the best mp3 sound quality – most people cannot hear the difference between that and a .wav file, and the file is much smaller than a .wav would be.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini 14.3, 8.1 & 4.1, OS 13.5, 10.14, & 10.11 & 10.6; Macbook Pro 8.2, OS 10.12.
Anytime you compress a file, regardless of format, be it mp3 or aac or anything else, you lose sound quality – most people cannot hear the difference between that and a .wav file, and the file is much smaller than a .wav would be.