Question about removing programs

Reaction score
OK so in the windows world you can uninstall programs using the method install / uninstall .....so how do you do it on the Mac OS .. i am new to the mac world

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Silver M1 iMac 512/16/8/8 macOS 11.6
1. Look for uninstaller in program, software CD or .dmg file.

2,. Download AppTrap and drag program to trash. AppTrap will delete all remaining files, including preference and extension.

OP
macattackz
Reaction score
where do you find the .dmg file? do you go to the application folder or where?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2.6GHz Core i7 15" MacBook Pro - 8GB DDR3 SDRAM - 750GB 7200 RPM HDD - GeForce 650M GT 1GB VRAM
If you didn't use an Installer to put it there, just dragging the .app file into the trash and emptying it should work. You can also look in ~/Library/Application Support and ~/Library/Preferences to delete the preferences and special libraries if you're a completionist, though App Zapper will do all that for you. If you did install it with an Installer, check if an uninstaller exists. If not, the method I just described should work.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2.6GHz Core i7 15" MacBook Pro - 8GB DDR3 SDRAM - 750GB 7200 RPM HDD - GeForce 650M GT 1GB VRAM
ok ... is there a uninstall application besides AppTrapp?

Personally, I do it manually. It's not hard. Drag the application to the trash is all that's necessary, but if you absolutely must get rid of the settings too, see if there's a corresponding folder in /Users/Yourusername/Library/Application Support and delete it. Same for any file in the Preferences folder that corresponds (better to just Spotlight the name of the App and see if anything shows up in those two folders).

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac = 20-inch, 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 2GB RAM, 320GB HD, Leopard. iPod Nano = 4GB, Silver
I use AppDelete now as I like to get rid of all files related to the Application I installed.