CCC + iMac's.

Reaction score
I work in a school district, and we have a few older iMacs sitting around that teachers want in their rooms to run basic programs. Here, when we do imaging, we have a cloning machine. We all know these bowling ball iMacs take about a year to get the hard drive out of, so I'm searching for an alternative.

I read about Carbon Copy Cloner a little bit and I set up the base model image on the first iMac. I was wondering something about CCC... First of all, is it possible to clone another iMac via firewire cable? I read bits and pieces about booting the subject computer into target mode and from the base computer, pushing the clone over. Is that possible?

Secondly, I tried to open CCC just to mess around with it. I downloaded CCC 3.1 on an XP machine, then on a jumpdrive threw it over to the iMac and installed it. When I open it, it closes almost immediately. Is it because it detects nothing else attached to it to push a clone to?

Thanks for your time.

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
The "bowling balls" are not iMacs. You're thinking of eMacs. :)

Carbon Copy Cloner is not a "sysprep" application as one would use to deploy the same installation image to many machines. It's strictly a backup device and a very good one. I use it in lieu of Time Machine. I guess it could be used to do a clone in Target Mode but that would be against Apple's licensing.

If you downloaded CCC in Windows it should have been in the form of a *.dmg file. Did you install CCC or just double click the file?

Regards.

OP
R
Reaction score
We refer to them as bowling balls, due to their round shape. I'm familiar with eMacs as well. I always had a nack for thinking of star wars when I looked at those things, though. If you've ever seen the body of an eMac on somebody's head before, you'll know what I mean! ;P